A list of the Grand Marshals since 1925

Tucson News Icon Guy Atchley is Named 2019 Rodeo Parade Grand Marshal

Tucson News Icon Guy Atchley is Named 2019 Rodeo Parade Grand Marshal           Guy Atchley has been a part of entertainment and news media for over 50 years.  He began his career as a disc jockey and radio news reporter at the University of Tulsa.  After graduation, he began his television career as a news reporter in Tulsa, Miami, Milwaukee, and Oklahoma City.  In 1984 he accepted a job as a news anchor for KGUN TV in Tucson and spent the next 34 years informing Southern Arizona about local events and worldwide news.                    Since graduating from the University of Tulsa in 1972 with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Radio/Television Speech, Atchley received more than twenty first-place awards for excellence in reporting.  He received three consecutive Associated Press awards for Best General Reporting in the state of Oklahoma.                  During Guy’s Tucson tenure, the AP honored KGUN 9 News with the award for Best Newscast in Southern Arizona seven times. In 1992 Atchley swept the Arizona AP awards by winning three first-place honors including: Best Serious Feature, Best Light Feature, and Best General Reporting in the State.          Atchley also was honored for his reports on living conditions in China in the documentary “China: 1987.”  In October of 1993, Guy traveled to the Middle East for a documentary on Israel’s quest for peace. That documentary, plus Guy’s news reports and speeches to expose intolerance and bigotry, earned him the 1994 Human Relations Award presented by the Jewish Community Relations Council.             Besides reporting from several foreign countries, Guy also traveled the United States. He has covered space shuttle launches in Florida, racial tension in the South, and immigration policies at the U.S./Mexico border. On Veterans Day of 1994, Guy reported from the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington, D.C.             For more than two decades, Guy spent each Labor Day as Tucson host for the Jerry Lewis Muscular Dystrophy Telethon. In 1991 he emceed the Tucson Welcome Home Celebration for Gulf War veterans at Arizona Stadium.             You may have seen Guy’s cameos in several TV movies: “Jericho Fever,” the remake of “Vanishing Point,” and the independent films “Runnin’ at Midnite” and “Dark Was the Night.”  Just in case you’re wondering, Atchley played the role of a news reporter in each film.             Guy Atchley is now retired after 34 years in Tucson at KGUN TV.  However, he’s still having fun in broadcasting, playing oldies at KGVY Radio in Green Valley.  He also is an accomplished amateur photographer and travels Arizona to document the beauty of the Grand Canyon State. In fact, Guy has received press credentials for the Rodeo Parade for the last few years and shares photos on his Facebook page.             The Tucson Rodeo Parade Committee is proud to have Guy Atchley as the Grand Marshal of the 2019 Tucson Rodeo Parade.        

2024 - Louise Thomas

2023 - Jessica Cox

2022 - Aida Barnes

2020 - World War II Veterans

2019 - Guy Atchley

2018 - Tucson Conquistadors

2017 - Jeannette Maré

2016- Chandler Warden

2015 - Coach Jerry Kindall

2014 - Dan Marries
2013 - Gabrielle Giffords and Mark Kelly

2012 - Tucson Boys Chorus
2011 - Joel D. Valdez
2010 - Big Jim Griffith
2009 - Mayor Robert E. Walkup
2008 - Humberto Lopez
2007 - Richard H. Carmona. M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.S
2006 - Louise Serpa
2005 -Baxter Black
2004 - Mrs. Cele Peterson
2003 - Larry Mahan
2002 - Mike Candrea
2001 - olan Ellis
2000 - Hadley Barrett
1999 - Sons of the Pioneers
1998 - Rex Allen, Jr.
1997 - Don Collier
1996 - Ben Johnson
1995 - Charles Sampson
1994 - Gil Fricker
1993 - Jim Ronstadt
1992 - Burt Humphrey
1991 - Bill West
1990 - Chuck Henson
1989 - Jim Click, Jr.
1988 - Lute Olson
1987 - Governor Rose Mofford
1986 - Bill Breck
1985 - Paul Grimes
1984 - Mayor Lew Murphy
1983 - Frank B. Roe
1982 - Roscoe Christopher
1981 - Kingston J. Smallhouse
1980 - Joe Weinzapfel
1979 - Clinton L. Helbig
1978 - Roy P. Drachman
1977 - Joseph O. Niemann
1976 - Alex G. Jacome
1975 - Harry V. Chambers

[one-half-first]1974 Gene C. Reid
1973 Royal Irving
1972 Brooks Davis
1971 John R. Snider
1970 Ambassador Raul H. Castro
1969 U. S. Senator Carl Hayden
1968 C. Edgar Goyette
1967 Ferd Lauber
1966 George W. Chambers
1965 Fred Blanc
1964 Pete Waggoner
1963 Clarence E. Britten
1962 A. M. (Jake) Meyer
1961 Harry Blacklidge
1960 Dr. Richard Harvill
1959 Frank Putter
1958 Frank Putter
1957 Frank Putter
1956 Ed Echols
1955 Ed Echols
1954 Ed Echols
1953 Ed Echols
1952 Ed Echols
1951 Ed Echols
1950 Frank Putter

1949 Frank Putter
1948 Frank Putter
1947 Frank Putter
1946 Frank Putter
1945 no Parade – WW II
1944 no Parade – WW II
1943 Frank Putter
1942 Frank Putter
1941 J. C. Jack Kinney
1940 J. C. Jack Kinney
1939 J. C. Jack Kinney
1938 J. C. Jack Kinney
1937 J. C. Jack Kinney
1936 J. C. Jack Kinney
1935 Fred Ginter
1934 J. C. Jack Kinney
1933 J. C. Jack Kinney
1932 J. C. Jack Kinney
1931 J. C. Jack Kinney
1930 J. C. Jack Kinney
1929 American Legion & Pete Waggoner
1928 American Legion & Pete Waggoner
1927 American Legion & Pete Waggoner
1926 American Legion & Pete Waggoner

Lions Club, Kiwanis, Rotary Club & Pete Waggoner



Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.